Skip to main content

Allow skipping second plan during apply phase for Terragrunt

We use Terragrunt and noticed that Spacelift runs 2 plans during tracked runs for Terragrunt, which for a merge-before-apply workflow means we’re now up to 3 plans for a single change to be applied. The impact of this is low for a directory with a short plan time, but could be major for directories where a plan takes a longer time.

Support mentioned that the reason for this is because of Terragrunt’s mocked_outputs features and not wanting to risk faked values being used to create infrastructure. However, we do not use mocked_outputs at all in our Terragrunt. Would it be possible to let us opt-in to skip the extra plan phase and save some time during our apply phases since we understand the risks but also feel they don’t apply to our use case?

Status: ✅ Completed3 comments

Log in to comment and vote

Comments3

  • James Humphries

    Team•

    May 14

    Im glad to report that this is now implemented. There is a setting on terragrunt stacks that allow you to skip the replan. Thanks for the feature request!

    • Amaranth Dew

      •

      May 14

      Huge! We will try it out!

  • Black Breeze

    •

    Oct 28, 2025

    Thank you for raising this Evan. Terragrunt is going to be the strategic focus for one of my teams for the next several week so I’m forwarding your feedback their way.